The BJP legislature party on Tuesday chose Mohan Charan Majhi as Odisha’s new chief minister to succeed Naveen Patnaik, who led the state for a record five term.

Mohan Charan Majhi, is a four-time MLA, won the Keonjhar constituency in the 2024 assembly elections. Meanwhile, Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida have been nominated as the Deputy Chief Ministers.

Here is all you need to know about the new Odisha Chief Minister:

  • Mohan Majhi will be the first BJP Chief Minister of Odihsa as the 24-year-old tenure of Biju Janata Dal chief Patnaik ended last week.
  • 53-year-old Mohan Majhi belongs to the tribal community and is known for his public service and organisational skills.
  •  Majhi won the Keonjhar seat this election with a margin of around 87,815 votes against BJD’s Mina Majhi. He became an MLA for the first time in 2000.
  • He has served as the Secretary of the State Tribal Committee of the BJP and was also elected as a Sarpanch in 1997.
  • Majhi has also served as the General Secretary of BJP state ST committee and was the government Deputy Chief Whip from 2005 till 2009 when the Biju Janata Dal ran a coalition government with the BJP.
  • The swearing-in of Majhi is likely to be held on June 12 at 5 pm. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to arrive in Bhubaneswar at 2.30 pm on Wednesday and proceed to Raj Bhavan from the airport, as per BJP sources.
  • The new Odisha CM also has keen interest in football.

Source link

Leave a Reply