The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha or SKM on Sunday returned to power in the state for a second consecutive term winning 31 seats in the 32-member assembly.The Sikkim Democratic Front or SDF which had ruled Sikkim for 25 years till 2019 won a lone seat.In Arunachal Pradesh, the ruling BJP retained power sweeping the state with 46 seats in the 60 member assembly. BJP had won 10 seats unopposed even before the first vote was cast in the state. “Today is a historic occasion for Arunachal Pradesh and specially for BJP. This time again the people of Arunachal Pradesh have decided that BJP government will continue for next five years. This time the mandate is bigger than 2019’s mandate. 2019 we had got 41 seats this time in 2024 BJP has got 46 seats,” says CM, Arunachal Pradesh. Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to X to thank the people of the state for giving the BJP such a verdict.Elections to the Sikkim and the Arunachal Pradesh state assemblies were held along with 102 Lok Sabha seats across the country in the first phase of polling on April 19th.

Source link

Leave a Reply