Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose a white kurta and churidar paired with a blue chequered jacket for his third consecutive swearing-in ceremony on Sunday. The ceremony took place at the forecourts of the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

Modi’s Attire For Oath-Taking Ceremony 

Modi completed his attire with black shoes. This sartorial choice follows his tradition of wearing kurtas and bandhgala jackets for such major events. In 2014, for his first swearing-in, he wore a cream linen kurta-pyjama with a beige golden jacket, and in 2019, he opted for a similar outfit paired with a beige jacket. 

Modi is known for his distinctive clothing choices, including flamboyant and colourful turbans during Independence Day and Republic Day celebrations. In January this year, he chose a multi-coloured “bandhani” print safa for Republic Day. 

Modi became the second Prime Minister after Jawaharlal Nehru to be elected for a third consecutive term. 

Senior BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, and Amit Shah also took the oath as cabinet ministers. Party president JP Nadda returned to the cabinet after five years, signaling the Prime Minister’s focus on continuity and experience in his third term. 

Additionally, seven former chief ministers, including Narendra Modi, were part of the new council of ministers sworn in on Sunday. The other former chief ministers are Shivraj Singh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh), Rajnath Singh (Uttar Pradesh), Manohar Lal Khattar (Haryana), Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam), H D Kumaraswamy (Karnataka), and Jitan Ram Manjhi (Bihar). While five of these leaders are from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Kumaraswamy and Manjhi represent BJP allies JD(S) and Hindustani Awam Morcha, respectively. 

Modi, along with his council of ministers, took the oath as the new coalition government formed after two full tenures during which the BJP held a majority on its own. 

ALSO READ | ‘Main Narendra Damodardas Modi…’: PM Takes Oath For Record Third Term With His NDA Team

Source link

Leave a Reply