A voter turnout of 11.31 percent was recorded in the first two hours of polling in the seventh and last phase of voting in the Lok Sabha polls. 7th phase of polling of LS Elections includes Varanasi, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is contesting for a third consecutive term. Polling will be conducted in all 13 seats of Punjab, four seats in Himachal Pradesh, 13 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, and three seats in Jharkhand, alongside Chandigarh. Polling for the remaining 42 assembly constituencies in Odisha and by-elections for six assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh will also take place simultaneously. Among the total 904 contestants, other prominent candidates include Union Minister Anurag Thakur, Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharti, and actor Kangana Ranaut.

Source link

Leave a Reply