Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang, his spouse Krishna Kumari Rai, ex-Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling, former Indian footballer and SDF leader Bhaichung Bhatia, state BJP president DR Thapa, Speaker Arun Upreti and senior minister Lunga Nima Lepcha are the prominent candidates among 146 nominees. The results of the elections to the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh and 32-member Sikkim State Assemblies are scheduled to be declared on June 2, two days ahead of the Lok Sabha poll outcomes. In Sikkim, the contest is expected to be close between the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) and the Sikking Democratic Front (SDF). The SDF received a boost after footballer Bhaichung Bhutia’s Hamro Sikkim Party merged with it in November 2023. In Arunachal Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) held an advantage with 10 seats already secured. Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, and eight others won their seats uncontested, continuing a trend since 2014, when 11 Congress candidates had a similar victory. 

Source link

Leave a Reply